Wednesday, 23 July 2008

Grand Opening Little Sliammon Lake

On Saturday, June 21, 2008 PRPAWS hosted the grand opening of the Little Sliammon Lake Recreation Site. The majority of the over 120 participants hiked in on the trail from the end of Sutherland Street in Wildwood while others drove in on the extended logging road.

As people arrived they walked the new reroute of the trail around the cutblock, admired the 72 foot long bridge, tested the 50 foot swimming dock, and marveled at the new Shangri-La with its picnic table, shelter, outhouse and tent site.

By 2:00 the James Thomson Elementary first nations drumming group under the direction of Betty Wilson called everyone together at Shangri-La. A PRPAWS director welcomed everyone. Next Chief Walter Paul spoke and blessed the new recreation site. Then Regional District Chair Colin Palmer, Mayor Stewart Alsgard, and Tla'Amin Timber Products representative addressed the crowd. Roger Taylor, intrepid godfather of the BOMB Squad, drove in the last spike affixing the plaque commemorating the grand opening of the new recreation site.

MLA Nicholas Simons elected not to speak, but to play his cello instead. The melodies drifted out over the lake and added to the festive atmosphere, which was further enhanced by the Riffraff Kathaumixw Choir with their spiritual rendition of Total Praise. Then it was time to eat, drink and look around some more.

Here is the ad we placed in the Peak newspaper to thank the supporters:

Thank you!

PRPAWS wishes to thank the following organizations and businesses for their support in establishing the new Little Sliammon Lake Recreation Site:

Tla’Amin Timber Products, Sliammon Band, Goat Lake Forest Products and above all the BOMB Squad.

We also wish to thank the following individuals, organizations and businesses for their participation and generosity in making the Grand Opening on June 21 a success:

Safeway, Macdonald’s, Mitchell Brothers, Sliammon Administration, Laughing Oyster, Randy Timothy, Betty Wilson with the James Thomson drummers, Kathaumixw Riffraff Choir, Nicholas Simons, Chief Walter Paul, Clint Williams, Regional District Chair Colin Palmer, Mayor Stewart Alsgard and Roger Taylor.

No comments: